Remembering Who You Are

20160524_131454000_iOS

I saw this image online this morning and couldn’t help but smile.  It so represents where I am at my life right now. It is something I needed to remember and need to keep remembering.

I guess it kind of goes in line with my post yesterday, about being fake or real. Sometimes, I think we live so long being something we’re not that we start to believe that person is real, who we really are, when really it has just been a cover for something. Fear… insecurity… shame… protection… all are reasons we present a false facade, to cover up what’s really inside or what we are truly facing. If we live within that confine too long, it may actually start to become real, to become who we really are.  We forget who we were. But, I don’t think we can change who we truly are deep inside, we just master different levels of hiding it.

The thing is, sometimes the person inside that  we are trying to hide is a good person and not a bad one. Why did I need to hide that I was genuine and caring? Why did I need to hide that I feel and that I got hurt? Why did I need to hide the very qualities about me that make me unique and special? It’s all some preconceived notion that society at large has taught us all. Don’t show weakness, right?

I am calling BULLSHIT on that right here and now! What is so wrong with weakness?  Isn’t that what helps us learn and grow? Isn’t that what turns us into better and more understanding people? Seeing your weakness and trying to improve it shows strength, not weakness.

So find yourself, accept yourself, welcome yourself back to the real world. You are okay exactly the way you are. Aren’t we each just a canvas upon which an abstract painting is taking shape? Paint your own canvas my dear friends.

14 thoughts on “Remembering Who You Are

  1. All that you have mentioned is true except for the part that you dislike or hate the fake. I have been way to fake for almost 4 years now. But its vital for people around me. I don’t do it because they don’t approve of it or dislike it rather they need it. I realised it very early that I understand emotions and genuineness but on the other hand I am very cold. I can be “people in the world have got way bigger problems than your broken nail” or “stop crying over it, it was just a misunderstanding and for god’s sake it has already been a week.” I can be really cold and blunt. I have emotions and it is not that I don’t care but I think of what is more important at that point of time. Over the period of years I have learnt to be “crap! you broke your nail, don’t worry it will be okay soon” and “I know it hurts, but this is about time you should move on plus such misunderstandings tend to happen between people.” Honestly, as you said I was becoming what I was faking and I was harming myself but I feel it was necessary, it still is but now I am looking for a better balance. Intention is not to disagree with you but to give you a different perspective to look at it. Hope you don’t mind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Perhaps I did not word it correctly – I do not hate the people who are fake, I hate that they ARE fake. And hate is actually not even the right word, I just find it frustrating when the fakeness of others harms my life. I completely get what you are saying here though – and balance is the key. I think softening your words isn’t so much fake as it is just realizing that we all react to things differently and at different levels.

      I’m not sure about being fake because someone else NEEDS it though. If I look back at the times that I have had to be careful with my words or my tone, it was never because someone else needed it, it’s because I needed it – because it was easier than fighting. The thing is, I wasn’t being honest or fair with myself or that person. In editing myself, I was continuing to ignore that maybe that relationship wasn’t the right one.

      Now obviously, I don’t know your situation – I am only saying how I see what you have said as I apply it to myself and my life. I wholeheartedly believe there IS a balance – we have to consider others as well as ourselves. I do appreciate a different perspective. There is always more to consider and always more to learn. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ofcourse we relate things with what happens in our life. You are correct on your stand but I do find a NEED of others for me to behave in certain way. Sometimes I am the last person they come to and at that time if I behave like my cold self it might result into their breaking down. They know how I am but despite of that if they come to me that means the NEED me to behave in a different manner, they expect me to understand and alter myself. I think it is not at all unreasonable on their part. If you might introspect you might have did that for someone or expected someone to do it for you; whether that happened or not is a secondary question.

        Like

  2. Reminds me of a TED talk I watched recently. It was all about vulnerability and connectedness. The conclusion was that without showing our vulnerabilities, we don’t open ourselves up enough to have a genuine connection with others. Like you say, admitting we are fallible isn’t something we should be ashamed to do. It allows us to be authentic with people and have real, meaningful relationships.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow Sarah! Love this! Yes, it is time our true selves came out. Society wants a facade, but until we learn to love ourselves and let that part of our person out, we don’t grow, mature, or become ourselves.
    It is very difficult to identify with a facade, unless you’re another plastic being that is living out one of your very own.
    I love it when souls become real. Those are the people I hang out with. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for such a wonderful response! I wish more people could be real. I think the world would be a better place. I can handle real, even if I don’t like it. It’s the lies and the facades that I cannot respect.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautifully said.

    It took me a long time to learn this. As I struggled with depression and PTSD, I tried to contain it all inside for too long. The truth, the reality of ourselves, always has a way of bleeding through our facades. My reality, the honesty of the storm that was brewing within, manifested in difficulties in my relationships. I tore rifts between myself and the people I cared about.

    When I finally faced myself and returned to who I was -open and vulnerable- I found the person I was trying to hide to be stronger than I could ever imagine; capable of finding healing for both himself and those whom he had distanced himself from.

    Your honesty here is a welcome reminder that we are stronger than we realize; able to overcome the grandest of canyons between us and our goals.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! I am so glad that your were able to find your own inner strength. I know what to takes to get there. I wish more of those in life’s trenches could realize they have more strength than they know. But I also know that everyone has to come to it on their own – it’s the only way n which it will be genuine and real. HUGS to you my friend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

