How To Be Happy – Step 6 of 12

images

“Do the things you enjoy doing, but stay out of debt.” (Robert Louis Stevenson)

Sounds simple right?  Not! I have to willingly admit that this one does make me roll my eyes. I know better, but I can’t help it. Almost everything costs money these days. About all I have that I can do without money is get out in nature, walk and hike, and listen to the wonderful sounds and take in the beauty. And I do love doing that for sure. But other than that, what I want to do takes money; road trips, trying new restaurants, opening my own business, etc.

But, I have to look at it logically and realistically I guess. It comes down to having to save up if I really want something.  It’s so hard to do, I know; I struggle with it often. I have always known I want to own my own business and be my own boss but we have never had the start-up funds. The truth is though, unless I start saving, even if it’s only a little at a time, I will never have that start-up money. The only way I can make that dream come true is if I take steps to get there. This is difficult though because I want it NOW. Isn’t this true for so many of us? Waiting sucks – we want it now! But if I keep thinking like that, my dream will never happen. I have to take the steps, even if they are baby steps, to get there.

Seeing progress is better than seeing nothing…

Leave a Reply

