A Poem – “I, Abandoned”

874e81976abca37cc6ada6c09092cda7

You selfishly abandoned me

but do you not realize

that in doing so,

you also abandoned yourself?

You walked away from the one person

that truly cared about you.

You walked away from the one

who knew you best and would never

have hurt you.

In your quest to live a fake life,

trying to be something you’re not,

trying to impress those who just

do not matter,

you have lost yourself.

I miss the old you, sister,

the one I could talk with and laugh with,

the one who didn’t care about money and status.

I have nothing in common with the new you,

nothing at all.

But I still would have loved you

had you not walked away.

You threw away an unconditional love.

You threw away a piece of yourself.

I hope it was worth it.

 

© 2016 Sarah W.

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Poem – “I, Abandoned”

Leave a Reply

