How To Be Happy – Step 3 of 12

why-so-serious

“Don’t take yourself too seriously. Don’t think that somehow you should be protected from misfortune that befalls other people.”  (Robert Louis Stevenson)

Hmm, although I completely agree with this, I think it misses the mark a little. I don’t think anyone, except the extreme narcissist, thinks that they should be protected from misfortune that befalls others. I think it is more that we just wish we didn’t find so much misfortune. The things I have been through I wouldn’t wish on anyone else let alone myself.

I do struggle with the don’t take yourself too seriously part. I actually take myself more seriously than most people I know, too seriously. My perfectionism, my appearance, my words and actions – I pay too much attention to them all just out of plain and pure insecurity. It’s all my feeble attempt at wrapping myself in a soft security blanket. It doesn’t necessarily work though. I get so caught up in anxiety and insecurity that I miss the good moments. There are many times I am reserved when everything else is laughing, uncomfortable when everyone else is relaxing and having fun. I miss out on life and it’s a terrible way to live.

As I try to enjoy the little things in life more, I am starting to release some of that seriousness but I have a long way to go.  It takes work to change something about yourself that has been there pretty much sense you were born. But I thing it is worth it!  🙂

(Imagine taken from Google Images)

Leave a Reply

