How To Be Happy – Step 2 of 12

29e2da15a082ab0a9a06e387168e83bd

“Make the best of your circumstances. No one has everything, and everyone has something of sorrow intermingled with gladness of life. The trick is to make the laughter outweigh the tears.” (Robert Louis Stevenson)

Oh my – I needed to hear this one. I am not very good at finding the best of any current situation; I am instead usually just waiting for the bad to come or get worse. There’s that damn negativity again! I will say that I am getting better at this the last couple months, getting better at realizing I can’t change certain things or control what is going to happen sometimes and so I have to roll with it and try to make the most out of what I have been dealt.

I have never believed that there are others out there who have perfect lives; a perfect life does not exist. My downfall in thinking has been that it seems like just SO much has happened to me, and the truth is that far more has happened to others. I’m not ignorant to that fact. I guess I just wish I could stop getting hit from all sides. I’d like to finally experience more happiness than grief. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that my happiness mostly relies on me and how I think more than anything else! It’s a tough one to take in, to admit to ourselves.  We keep waiting for someone else or something else to save us – but life doesn’t work that way. We first have to save ourselves. I know how that sounds, as I used to cringe when someone would try to tell me that. But after being at the bottom of the suffocating pit and clawing my way out, I have learned so many things, important things, things that can change a life, my life.

And so, here is to making the laughter outweigh the tears. Just like step #1, we need to see and appreciate the smaller things in life, the simpler things, take on little pieces of life at a time rather than trying to carry the weight of the whole damn thing. I’m willing to try…

 

(Image taken from Google Images)

3 thoughts on “How To Be Happy – Step 2 of 12

Leave a Reply

