How To Be Happy?

happiness2

I bought a book a few weeks ago with all kinds of quotes, poems and sayings about trying to live happily. There is a section called “How To Be Happy” with a list of 12 suggestions for trying to find happiness in your current life (list written by Robert Louis Stevenson). At first, I scoffed and rolled my eyes – I can’t help it, it’s ingrained in me – but I have to stop doing that for I am only hurting myself. I have really been trying to change my negative outlook on life and the things and people in it. And so, I think it would make a good blog series. I am going to go through the list, one each day, post about it and how I think I might be able to use it, to accomplish it. Maybe you all can take the ride with me.

Day 1 – “Make up your mind to be happy. Learn to find pleasure in simple things.” 

Yay, I can handle this one! Or rather, I have been trying to work on this already since the turning of the new year. That first part though – making up my mind to be happy – is not the easy part of this mission though. I want to be happy, of that there is no doubt. It’s just that my life has taught me that there is so much bad out there and that bad always seems to find me. So I can make up my mind to be happy, but that mind will fight me on it at times.

The second half – learn to find pleasure in the simple things – I am already working at and mostly succeeding, mostly. We don’t change all at once overnight after all. I am trying to more more aware of the sun and how it feels against my skin, aware of the actual taste of food instead of scarfing it down, the look and smell of flowers in bloom or the beautiful, tall trees, the love I do have in my life. There are so many small things in life that pass us by every day, that pass me by. And I am the one letting that happen – no one is forcing it on me.

I am going to try to do more of this, enjoying the simple things. Maybe with doing that, the happiness starts to shine in…

(Image from Google Images – link to http://www.exploringpsyche.com)

17 thoughts on “How To Be Happy?

  1. I noticed a little thing in my life today that made me really happy.I read a blogpost from a wonderful person who posted a lovely piece of writing on How to be happy.I was delighted to see how she has begun to experience the warmth of sunlight more and savour the taste of food in all it’s completeness and appreciate the beauty of trees and the aroma of flowers.I felt really enthralled to know that she will be creating a blog series sharing such pleasant thoughts occasionally.It felt so incredibly nice.The energy got communicated.Positive energy.And I am happy I came across her post. I will carry this feeling for a long duration with me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You just made me cry, but they are happy tears. Thank you with all my heart for such wonderful words of support and encouragement. You have lifted me up today and I am so very thankful for you. 🙂 ❤

      Would you mind if I shared your comment in a blog post?

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I have not always been this way though – it’s just been this last year that the epiphanies and understanding have come. It feels good though – to just be me instead trying to be what others want me to be. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

