‘Thoughts Through Art’ Series

6019809_f260

This is the second in my series of finding meaning through art, words and images, things for all of us to contemplate and consider.

This image struck me immediately and brought a tear to my eyes. I can see it meaning different things to different people but for me, it represents years of my own broken heart, a heart broken by so many people and in so may ways that there were days I wished I could just tear into my chest, rip it out of me and throw it to the ground.

This image makes me feel sad. I can see myself looking down at my own heart and grieving for it, grieving for myself, grieving for the life I should have had. My heart had been broken so terribly, that for 6 years, I had turned off my emotions and wouldn’t let myself feel. I didn’t want my heart anymore; I didn’t want to feel; I didn’t want to hurt anymore. In those moments, the picture above was very much me. I am glad I got past that stage, although I will always remember that feeling.

What does this image mean to you?

If you are in this emotional state, please reach out to someone. There are people out there who understand and who want to listen. I am here if you need me. Or if you need to, please call the suicide hotline at 800-273-8255. You just need to make it through this one moment…

19 thoughts on “‘Thoughts Through Art’ Series

  1. After I read your post, I saw this image differently… like holding my heart. Like a tender holding… like I took it out of my chest just to hold it closer. I love that ā™”. It was tender how it changed from my first reaction of sadness to tenderness… much like my own journey. I like your space here. ā™” Laurie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Boone County CASA and commented:
    CASA wanted to share with you this post from Breaking Sarah. The writer of this blog survived sexual abuse first perpetrated by her brother, and later by her father. We echo her sentiment that ‘if you are in this emotional state, please reach out to someone.’

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This picture is so saddening. Our heart is what keeps us alive, and to have it broken emotionally must be extremely painful, and I can understand why people might feel that they don’t want it any more, because they want the pain to disappear. Luckily, I have never been at a point where I’ve felt truly broken, but part of who I am is trying to come back from negatives with the positives, and if I was this little character I would hold my heart (broken or otherwise) close to me and try to heal it on my own, because at that point, I’d be the only one capable of doing so.

    Thank you for sharing this, it’s really meaningful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What you have written here is so true. When I was on the edge of suicide years ago, there was no one to help me. I reached out to someone and was ignored. Luckily, I somehow came to the point of not wanting to let the pain win! I wasn’t going to let it break me. I knew I had to save myself and I did. It took time but I did it and I am so much stronger for it now.

      I am so happy that you have been able to turn negatives into positive. It is no easy task, I know. It tells me you have much strength inside you. HUGS to you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m really glad that you were able to bring yourself back from the edge and in doing so take a step towards defeating your pain šŸ™‚ I think it is extremely brave of you and shows that you are also a very strong person, and you should embrace and be proud of that -which I can tell you do through sharing your story via your blog. It may sound like a simple concept, turning negatives into positives but it’s an outlook that has shaped who I am today and I’m so grateful for that. Hugs back to you too!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have recently been trying to do just that – being aware of my negative thoughts and trying to see another side to them. I remember hating when people would say to do that – little did I know that they were actually correct. Thank you for your positive influence!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I remember feeling the same! I used to think ‘easier said than done’ but it’s all about development in yourself, growing as a person and realising the positives in your life that exist to show you how far you’ve come. I hope that makes sense! I wish you luck with your positivity journey (if I can call it that šŸ˜Š)

        Like

  4. This made me feel so sad too. What a powerful image..it makes me think of times where I felt I could no longer go on. It immediately brought back a little of that pain. Almost strange to look back on. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so sorry it brought back some pain for you. I do think it is valuable to our future to remember our past and to see how far we have come. It is most definitely a powerful image – it hit me like a brick when I first saw it. Hugs to you my dear! ā¤

      Like

      1. Oh, no worries, I enjoyed seeing how far I have come too. I agree! It is definitely valuable to our future to remember our past and see our growth since. Thank you for sharing! Hugs to you too šŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

