Thoughts For A New Year

thoughts-bubble

It is day three of this new year and I am struggling to figure out how I am feeling. It’s why I hadn’t posted in this new year yet – I felt all discombobulated! Since about 9:00 pm on New Years Eve, I have felt odd, emotional.  Well, not really emotional but moreso that I can’t figure out the emotion I have been experiencing.  At first, that night, I thought it was grief over going into a new year without our precious little dog that passed away in December. It just doesn’t seem right going into a new year without him – he should be here, with us. But then the feeling continued past that night. I know that my family and I have some major life changes in the next few months and that could be making me nervous. But it could be neither of these or even both, or even something I haven’t figured out yet.

I guess I don’t need to figure it out. I do, however, need to not let it get me down, not keep me in a negative mindset. My New Year’s Resolution was to be more in the present, more aware of where my mind is and why it is there. I am trying to do that now. I guess being in the moment doesn’t mean finding all the answers  – it means allowing myself to feel whatever I am feeling but then being aware of it, not so much of what is causing it but of how it is affecting me and my mood and my thought process.

I have to laugh when I hear or read that we should make an effort to replace negative thoughts with positive ones. I don’t laugh because I think it’s crazy but because I know all too well how difficult of a task that really is. I know it to be true though and I am going into this year willing to try.

I have spent so much of my life living in the past and I just don’t want to do that anymore. It only harms me and doesn’t allow me to actually live. Life is short and I want to get something out of it. I deserve to get something out of it. This is the year that I am going to take back control and start making that happen. I hope you will too!  🙂

10 thoughts on “Thoughts For A New Year

  1. Hi Sarah.I really liked reading your post.Yes,life is short, and it is best lived in present.Two years back I also made similar kind of resolutions and tried to take control.And as it is said “Seek and ye shall find”, I met some wonderful people in my endeavor,some very nice books I got to read and it was quite solacing and exciting to feel the transformation that came about in my attitude,thinkinking and perspective.Just got the memories back reading your post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yes, backsliding did happen.I had changed my lifestyle and had abandoned certain habits for which I was known for.But at some point in time I when times were hard,I did start sliding back,as you know when swimming against the current,we need to keep paddling continuously.Any complacency drives us back to old habits.So I was sliding back. But I must say,the company of a few friends who were strong mentally and emotionally,always helped me.I had discovered the power of prayers and I had started believing in Divinity as the source of power to overcome the negativity.And I continued to enhance the frequency of writing,as pouring down the thoughts on paper,with the mindset of being more ‘present’ really made me feel good.And I really loved reading and re reading the pages of “A New Earth” by Eckhart Tolle,which gave profound thoughts on the art of living in present. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

