Thoughts Through Art

download

I want to start doing some posts on different quotes, photographs and paintings, posts to contemplate and inspire. I would love to hear your thoughts as well.

I saw this the other day and it stopped me dead in my tracks. I think it is one of the most powerful quotes I have come across. “Silence is the most powerful scream.” Yes!  It is! And it’s the one scream that most people do not hear. When I became silent in my life, I was at my lowest point. It’s when people should have worried about me the most, yet no one noticed and no one reached out. I was screaming inside! Screaming to the heavens, screaming to the mountains, screaming to myself. But it was a silent scream, bound by pain and loss and hopelessness.

Luckily, I found my way out. And because of what I went through, I am now much more open to and aware of silence in others. I think I can sometimes tell the difference between everyday silence and screaming silence by the existence of or lack of pain in a person’s eyes.

“Silence is the most powerful scream.” Yes, it most certainly is…

 

20 thoughts on “Thoughts Through Art

  1. definitely words for everyone to contemplate, to be a consistent reminder to cultivate within each of ourselves the ability to listen (not just) hear this silence. As you commented, “I think I can sometimes tell the difference between everyday silence and screaming silence by the existence of or lack of pain in a person’s eyes.” Discovering our own unique ways to listen and to improve upon them not only helps others but would, I believe, cultivate our inner compassion.

    Powerful post. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel it is most powerful scream because your silence hurts your loved ones people who care for you the most. When you are silent their heart also aches and it speaks louder about how much hurt you are than combination of any words can express. That is how I see it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think loved ones either realize the silence but ignore it, realize it and try to help, or some just don’t even realize it at all. I, in particular, was very good at hiding how bad I actually felt inside. My silence was in not sharing it, in knowing no one would every understand.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Hmmm, I do want to believe that. I haven’t truly found it, yet. Well, I should say that I have’t found it other than through my blog. I think it’s easier for people to listen when they have had deep trauma themselves. I am hopeful though.

        Like

Leave a Reply

