A Poem – “Broken Arrow”

k15690374

I will not run away,

no, I will not flee.

I simply can’t be

all you want me to be.

Shoot your masked arrows

through my mangled heart.

From the very start

you tried ripping me apart.

But you didn’t succeed

instead, making my stronger.

No longer will I ponder

being anyone’s victim any longer.

For here I stand so strongly

finally – on my own,

seeing how much I’ve grown

such beautiful and powerful seeds sown.

So shoot your selfish arrows,

they won’t penetrate my soul,

nor will they take a toll

on this delicate beauty now whole.

 

© 2015 Sarah S. 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “A Poem – “Broken Arrow”

Leave a Reply

