Finding My Life In Novels

I have read several novels that have come to mean so much to me, novels that mirror my life in so many ways. I wanted to start sharing some of them and hope they touch you as they have me.

Right now, I am reading a book called “The Beginning of Everything” by Robyn Schneider.  I’m not far enough along to critique it but I came across a paragraph that was so true, it felt like it reached out and slapped me in the face:

“I still think that everyone’s life, no matter how unremarkable, has a singular tragic encounter after which everything that really matters will happen. That moment is the catalyst – the first step in the equation. But not knowing the first step will get you nowhere – it’s what comes after that determines the result.”

Wow! There is more truth in this than I think I even fully realize yet. In the book, the main character had an unremarkable life until his tragic encounter found him. For me, my life is far from unremarkable in many ways and I have had many tragic encounters and events. If you would have asked me 6 years ago, I would have said that the incest of childhood was that encounter or event, or maybe even having my child. But now, today, there is no doubt in my mind that that encounter was when one of my sisters first turned on me, that one phone call, the phone call that changed my life forever. That singular encounter would lead to multiple family estrangements and almost the death of me. But I realize that is not the important thing here but rather who I have become since. It marked the beginning of a change in my life, of what was and is to come. All the crap I have been through doesn’t matter anymore, it’s what I do going forward that will make or break a life, my life. That event was not the beginning of the end, it was the beginning of everything.

It is hard to take this in, I know, especially when pain seems so deep. But I truly believe we come out stronger when we survive tragedy. I am trying to let this seep into my veins and feed my soul. If I think about the lives I have touched through my blog, I can see that it was the beginning of everything. I may never be known or famous but I have the power to help others, to touch lives in need. I did not have that before my tragic encounter and honestly, it is the best part of my life thus far.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Finding My Life In Novels

  1. I agree! Although, like you, I’ve had many such experiences. With each, there was a move in a direction, one which ultimately brought me to a place where my eyes were opened wider than ever before. And I’m so thankful for the nudges, even as painful as they were. Thank you for sharing, Sarah.

    Angela

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It seems like writing is a way you do battle. I see a wonderful sense of hope and positive thinking in your words. Could it be a small amount of faith? No need to answer it was just a thought.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

