A Poem – “Tree of Life”

tree-with-roots-color.jpg

 

My life is not dissimilar from a tree:

 

Roots – my childhood,

abuse,

tangled, spreading out across the floor

but rotten to their very core.

 

A trunk – the inner part of me,

stability,

giving strength and ability to endure,

in a world that feels so very unsure.

 

Branches – my life now,

reaching

out to grasp the light and pull it in

to a heart prepared to give and receive again.

 

Leaves – my future,

hope,

allowing the light to help me grow,

to renew myself again and again,

as each new season begins.

 

© Sarah S. 2015

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “A Poem – “Tree of Life”

Leave a Reply

