Bad News

I just got the news that my precious, little doggie has cancer. Three tumors – 2 small ones and then one big one taking up half of his liver. We maybe have 6 months to a year if we are lucky. It depends on how fast it progresses and then quality of life issues once it comes to that.

I refused to cry in the vet’s office – I can’t let anyone see me hurting. I cried like hell when I got to the car and then on the drive home. But even then, I had to pull myself together so my step-son wouldn’t see. I am waiting till his father gets home tonight so we can tell him together.

I’m so angry!  Both for my dog and for me – I can believe I’m going to lose something else in my life – I have so little left! And it’s bringing up memories of my father’s death – the one I still haven’t truly dealt with. I’m afraid this loss, when it comes, will break me. I need to be strong going into the wedding next week but here I am in a pain I don’t know how to deal with.

I feel like fate or destiny or whatever the hell you call it keeps slapping me in the face, over and over again! And I don’t know what I ever did to deserve it. I’m just so tired…

14 thoughts on “Bad News

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your dog! I’m crying with you and know you CAN handle this. You are stronger than you know 🙂 You left a very supportive comment on one of my posts once and it really, REALLY helped me because I felt so alone. I hope the comments you get here do the same for you. God speed!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow – isn’t mutual support such an amazing thing?! Thank you for your kind words. That strength is buried right now but I am hoping it finds its way back to the surface. It’s so much easier to comfort others that to look inside ourselves sometimes.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t tell you how sorry I am. You have every right to feel the way you do. I am an avid animal lover and my dog is my world. He’s a senior guy and I know I have little time left. Words can’t make this better for you but know my thoughts are with you and I pray your time with you doggie are cherished moments. Big hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh Sarah! My heart aches for you. Our pets often lavish more love on us than humans. I can’t even imagine losing mine. They are always there for us. And when you have already lost so much, it really must be devastating beyond belief! I am truly sorry!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

