A Poem – “Remember Me”

Remember me as I was then;

Oh, the ignorant days of my youth.

Skipping, jumping,

laughing and such,

blind to a yet unknown truth.

Remember me as I was then,

full of hope and belief.

Imagining, planning,

dreams and things,

before I ever knew grief.

Remember me as I was then,

running free under the sun.

Trusting, minding,

Actions and words,

Even as damage was done.

But do not remember the one you see now,

for I’m nothing more than a shell.

No more dreams,

just tears and things,

living my own private hell.

So remember me as I was then,

that precious, carefree little pearl.

Doubting, fearing,

it’s all that remains

Of this grownup, sad little girl?

© 2013 Sarah S.

5 thoughts on “A Poem – “Remember Me”

Leave a Reply

