And The Hits Just Keep Coming!

I came home today to find drops and smears of blood on our house floors. Oh no – what’s going on with our dog? I tried to find blood on him but couldn’t, until he sneezed and out came the blood. He’s 13 years old and I knew that was not a good sign. The vet had me get him in right away. After initial tests, the vet warned me there was a possibility of cancer. While alone in the room while they took more tests, I found myself in the familiar territory of the last few years – that part of me that emotionally shuts down, it started to shut down.

So far, this is what we know – he has an enlarged heart which is pressing against his trachea, his liver numbers are sky high, and he has a tumor which we don’t know if it’s benign or cancer yet. I have to go back for an ultrasound and biopsy. None of this explains him sneezing blood though but they can’t treat it with his high liver numbers. We have to wait till after the ultrasound.

I just can’t deal with this right now – I can’t lose anything else in my life! The wedding trip is a week away and now I am so very worried about my dog on top of all the stress and anxiety associated with the wedding. I have already been through hell – how much more can I take??

14 thoughts on “And The Hits Just Keep Coming!

  1. I’m very sorry about what’s happening. I hope everything gets alright. Life walks by, we can’t just stop and contemplate the horrible bits or get suspended in mid-air of time-space observing the good ones. Just a thought that just came into my mind and I share it here. A huge hug for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You will find you are stronger than you know. Your love and compassion will be tested, but in the end will stand in the face of your disbelief.

    Press on. Bend, but don’t break. I pray your dog comes through this well, and I pray you might find some much needed moments of peace.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

