A Light IN The Tunnel

Tunnel

“Look for the light at the end of the tunnel.”  We have all heard this and sometimes it’s irritating as hell!  I know there is a light at the end of my tunnel; I just haven’t made it that far yet. Today is a day to feel thankful though and what I do have amidst all the dark is a ray of light IN the tunnel – my wonderful husband. I am so thankful for him! He has been at my side for the last 15 years and has stood by me through the last 6, through my father’s sudden death, through the family estrangements, through all the lies and BS, through my emotional roller coaster. He saw it all and knows the truth. I don’t know how I would have gotten through it all alone, without anyone else seeing and knowing the truth. I know how lucky I am to have him in my life.

I think… no – I know that we often get so wrapped up in our pain that we can’t see any light; we can’t see the good things still in our lives; it feels like the bad stuff so outweighs any good. The good gets covered up, pushed away, drowned by our tears. Today, I choose to see the good!

I have an amazing husband, a good step-son, a wonderful best friend, a job, a roof over my head and food in my cupboards. So many families on the West Coast of the USA have recently lost everything due to ravaging fires – I can’t imagine what that would be like, feel like. Yes, I lost my family to estrangement but my husband and step-son are my family now. They are the ones that accept me for who I am and love me unconditionally. With everything else that’s happened in my life, I have to stop and take a moment to be thankful for that.

Tomorrow I may be back in the darkness but for today – it’s nice to see some light.

8 thoughts on “A Light IN The Tunnel

Leave a Reply

