“This Lost Soul” – A Poem

One touch,

a knowing glance,

an understanding ear.

So simple, the needs of a soul.

And yet hour after hour,

day after day,

week after week,

and year after year,

loneliness keeps hold on my heart.

What do I want?

What do I need?

Simple questions, not.

So complicated, this endless inquisition:

Do I want to be wanted?

To be needed?

To be loved?

Can anything ever bring peace?

And so I smile,

hiding my pain,

never letting on that I’m lost.

So harsh, this tangled juxtaposition.

I’m afraid if you see me

you’ll shun me,

turn from me – a risk

I can’t let myself take.

So touch me,

hear me,

tell me you care.

See me for who I am.

For day after day,

one moment to the next,

what it comes down to I guess

is I just want to matter.

© 2014 Sarah.

4 thoughts on ““This Lost Soul” – A Poem

  1. I think I know what this is about. I can only imagine your desire to be accepted by your son. My heart is going to be with you on that day. And I’ll say this… I know you matter to your husband. He’s bringing you. He’s supporting you. You also matter to me. Hang in there sweetie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

